Texting and driving has become a primary traffic offense in Florida, and vehicle owners are approaching their auto-insurance provider to seek shield against the situation. Reports suggest that there has been an astronomical increase in the percentage of road accidents and other miscellaneous incidents as a result of texting and driving; therefore, the state of Florida is adamant on mitigating the violations by the implementation of a rule that forbids texting and driving.
Distracted drivers are likely to cause a national epidemic and they are likely to be penalized for their actions on the roads. Traffic authorities in Florida are installing modern surveillance equipment to look for any driver violating the law, and they are advised to fine the driver. Not complying by the penalty could result in the driver losing its license, along with paying for other expenditures. Therefore, you should make sure that your vehicle is backed up by an auto-insurance policy to minimize the effectiveness of the situation.
The implementation of the rule coups texting while driving in certain ways—for starters, car drivers are strictly prohibited from texting, messaging, emailing, and other types of typing on their mobile phone, and it would be penalized as a primary violation rather than a secondary violation. It implies that traffic cops would stop you for the sole purpose of texting while driving. Furthermore, the implementation of the law forbids the use of a cellular phone for texting while operating a motor vehicle in a school zone or roadwork zone area. However, the use of hands-free and Bluetooth devices is legal to attend calls.
Dangers of texting and driving:
Drivers or vehicle operators are strictly advised to not use their cell phones for texting. Other than causing inadvertent road accidents or violating a traffic law, dangers of texting and driving include the following:
- You are violating the law and depending on your state, you could receive a heavy penalty for the offense.
- It could cause your insurance to go up, and it is something that you should avoid to preserve your insurance for emergency purposes.
- You are likely to damage your car if you are not paying attention to the road or, you can hurt someone while you are responding to a text. As a result, you would have to endure their personal injury expenditure and pay penalty for the action.
Penalty for breaking the law:
The Florida traffic administration has ordered the implementation of the rule effective immediately, and it would levy a $30 fine for a first offense and the second offense would cost up to $60. The penalty is also inclusive of paying court costs and other fees to deal with the matter, and it could compromise your driving license in the meantime.
Additionally, Florida law requires car drivers to keep an auto-insurance to mitigate the effectiveness of the penalty. The Florida Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law has ordered vehicle owners/registrants to have a minimum of $10,000 of property damage liability (PDL) and $10,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) on their insurance policies to deal with the matter in case of breaching the law
Golden Gables Insurance offers cheap auto-insurance to auto owners. Get your auto insurance with Golden Gables Insurance